The Writing Roller Coaster

I am currently reading “The Art of War for Writers” by James Scott Bell.  This book is filled with useful inspiration and straight shooting about what writing and living the author life are all about.  Today I read an entry that especially inspired me (and made me chuckle a bit).  Here is a short excerpt from that section, which was actually written by the successful novelist Terri Blackstock and was reprinted in “The Art of War for Writers” with her permission.

“I think one of the things unique to the writer’s life is that we do seem to be on a roller coaster…book comes out, good review, I dance again and sing for joy and write all my friends and make copies for my mother.  Then I go on Amazon and read one lousy review from some hostile reader, and I notice that I’m ranked 6,000,342,786, and I go around the house looking for my gun or the Valium I threw away when I was dancing for joy the last time.

But before I pull the trigger or toss those pills down my throat, I start thinking, ‘What if some guy had a gun and a bottle of anxiety pills and before he offs himself a shot rings out and he hits the floor and suddenly wants to live, only others want him dead,’ and woo-hoo, my spirits soar and my eyes glaze over, and like a homing robot (if there is such a thing) I stumble back to that keyboard and start typing.”

Is that the truth or what?  I could so relate to all the parts of this, the endless ecstasy and the bottomless pit of despair.  How about you?  Are you also on the writing roller coaster, trying to hold back your barf?

2 thoughts on “The Writing Roller Coaster

Leave a Reply

