Got my first real Kindle!!!

This week I received my first real ereader in the mail!  I have read ebooks on the Kindle app on my laptop and read many ebooks in PDF format, but it just isn’t the same as having an actual ereader.  I have been obsessed the last few days with my new gadget, trying to figure out exactly what it can and can’t do.  I should probably admit up front that I don’t have the fancy new Kindle Fire.  I figured it would be easier (and cheaper) to start out with the regular model and see if I even like it.  So far, here are my thoughts on the Kindle:

*I love being able to change the font style, size and other things like that.  I am one of those people who will not read a book if the print is too tiny or annoying.  For that reason, I think the Kindle will be great for reading some books I might have passed up otherwise.

*I hate the fact that I can’t read the Kindle in the bathtub…at least not safely that I can figure.  I do ALOT of reading in the bathtub, probably because my preferred method of relaxing includes surrounding myself in a big pile of bubbles.

*I like the free games that you can download on the Kindle…maybe a little too much.  I find myself wasting time that I should spend writing, playing games like Thread Words, Jigsaw Words and Grid Detective.

*Although they did a good job of making the Kindle thin, small and fairly light, it still doesn’t feel as good between my fingers as a new paperback novel.

*The selection of free or cheap books on Amazon is really pretty good, you only have to know where to look and give authors a chance, even if you have never heard of them.  The quality of indie books seems to be improving, and you can often tell by using the “Look inside this book” feature whether an author has written a quality book or not.

*An electronic device just isn’t as comfy to curl up with.  Maybe in time I will get used to it, but so far I do miss the smell, feel and look of a classic book.  In no way have I given up on my Kindle, I really do like it, but in some ways I am just an old-fashioned girl at heart.

What about you?  Would love to hear what others think of the ebook revolution.

2 thoughts on “Got my first real Kindle!!!

  1. Yes, you can read with the Kindle in your bathtub. The cheap option is to zip it up in a *Ziplock bag (maybe two just to be sure) or the more expensive option is to buy one of those waterproof cases.

    *this is what I do since I’m a cheapie

Leave a Reply

