Archive | December 14, 2011

My top 5 romantic movies

This past weekend my husband and I got to do something that is rare nowadays…we were able to go to the movies and out to dinner without any kids!  Of course, I was determined to take advantage of the opportunity and see a romantic, sensual movie…unfortunately, there really weren’t any available in the theater.  We ended up seeing “New Year’s Eve”, a romantic comedy which was a decent movie in its own right, but not quite what I had been wanting.

The experience got me thinking about romantic movies and how few of them have really stuck with me and are able to instantly put me into the mood.  So I decided to put together a list of my top 5 romantic movies, some of them might be predictable and many people might find them boring and stupid, but I like them.

#5  Bridget Jones’s Diary (I chose this movie because Bridget Jones is weird, awkward and far from the most beautiful woman around, but she has a hot man who loves her and treats her like a queen, even when she is being an idiot)

#4  Jane Eyre (One of my favorite love stories of all time, I love the novel, and so far, have loved every film adaptation I have seen)

#3  Titanic (Ok, it might be corny and so 90’s, but I love Rose and Jack.  There is something so romantic about tragedy)

#2  The Notebook (When Allie and Noah finally made love, it was awesome, even if Allie was engaged to some other poor guy at the time.  Plus, who doesn’t love the scenes between Allie and Noah as an old couple?  When they died in each others’ arms, it was enough to make the hardest heart soft)

#1   Gone with the Wind (Probably the first romantic movie I can remember watching that really got to me.  I always loved Scarlett and wanted her and Rhett to be together, but she was just so stupid at times, sitting around pining for that wimpy Ashley Wilkes.  One of my favorite scenes of all times though is when Rhett gets drunk and carries Scarlett up the winding staircase to make love)

Ok, so there you have it, my top 5 romantic movies.  What about you?  Feel free to share your own favorite romantic movies, I just might check them out if I haven’t seen them already!